What would happen when you Cloudshift a manifested sorcery?

Asked by SirFowler 4 years ago

Let's say you play Mastery of the Unseen and Day's Undoing is on top. You then manifest it and it becomes a creature and you have a Cloudshift in your hand. You wait until their turn and the use Cloudshift , targeting your manifested creature. When the spell comes back, is it considered casting the card? If so, would the spell resolve or would it just fizzle?

Epochalyptik says... #1

The card will be exiled and then fail to enter the battlefield because sorceries can't exist on the battlefield. Nothing else happens. You certainly don't get to cast it; nothing allows you to do so.

June 26, 2015 2:01 p.m.

TheRedMage says... Accepted answer #2

The cards get exiled, and becomes a face-up sorcery in the exile zone. Then it tries to enter the battlefield again, but the rules say:

304.4. Instants cant enter the battlefield. If an instant would enter the battlefield, it remains in its previous zone instead.
307.4. Sorceries cant enter the battlefield. If a sorcery would enter the battlefield, it remains in its previous zone instead.

So basically it tries to enter the battlefield, can't, and stays exiled instead.

As a note, in general it's safe to assume that nothing is being cast unless the word "cast" appears somewhere in the text. "Cast" is a special word in magic (kinda like "Target").

June 26, 2015 2:02 p.m. Edited.

This discussion has been closed