What is mana cost X when I have cards that reduce colourless costs by an amount?

Asked by Darthagnon 2 years ago

e.g. I have an Etherium Sculptor (artifacts cheaper by /1/), 5 Islands and a Semblance Anvil (artifacts cheaper by /2/ ability activated) in play. I then tapall 5 Islands to play Chimeric Mass . Does it enter with 5 charge counters, or can I have it enter with 8 charge counters?

GoblinsInc says... Accepted answer #1

You choose the value for X during the steps of casting. When it gets time to determine the cost (what you'll pay) the cost will be reduced by 3. If you say X is 5, it enters with 5 counters but you only have to pay 2.

Yes you can say X = 8, reduce the cost to 5 with your sculpter and anvil, and end up paying 5.

June 10, 2015 9:22 a.m.

Darthagnon says... #2

Thanks, GoblinsInc! That's great!!!

June 10, 2015 3:39 p.m.

This discussion has been closed