What happens when Paradox Haze becomes a creature?

Asked by MagicalHacker 5 years ago

So I know that equipments become unequipped when they are turned into creatures via effects like Karn, Silver Golem . But I have a couple of questions related to that:

  1. If you were to turn an aura that's enchanting a creature into a creature via Liquimetal Coating then Karn, Silver Golem , would it unattach and stop giving its effect(s) as well?

  2. If it does unattach, does it get put into the graveyard because it's still an aura but it's not attached to anything anymore?

  3. (& 4.) Do these answers also apply to other types of auras, like Abundant Growth , Paradox Haze , Artificer's Hex, Curse Artifact, Confiscate , Feedback, or Spellweaver Volute ?

Drilnoth says... Accepted answer #1

An Aura that is also a Creature gets put into its owner's graveyard as a state-based action. This includes Auras that enchant things other than creatures, such as Paradox Haze , Artificer's Hex , and Spellweaver Volute .

From the comprehensive rules (emphasis added):

303.4d An Aura can't enchant itself. If this occurs somehow, the Aura is put into its owner's graveyard. An Aura that's also a creature can't enchant anything. If this occurs somehow, the Aura becomes unattached, then is put into its owner's graveyard. (These are state-based actions. See rule 704.) An Aura can't enchant more than one object or player. If a spell or ability would cause an Aura to become attached to more than one object or player, the Aura's controller chooses which object or player it becomes attached to.

July 23, 2014 8:40 p.m.

MagicalHacker says... #2

Thats awesome. Weird, but awesome.

July 23, 2014 9:15 p.m.

This discussion has been closed