What happens to a Double Strike and Trample creature when blocked?

Asked by Wah6313 7 years ago

Okay, I have a Goblin Gaveleer on the battlefield equipped with a Grappling Hook and a Piston Sledge making him a 8/2 with double strike and trample. I make my opponent block with his Serra Angel because its annoying eating four damage a turn. My question is, when Serra Angel blocks my Goblin Gaveleer, my gaveleer hits it with 8 trampling damage on the first strike phase and 4 of that damage goes to my opponent. What happens to the rest of the double strike damage? Does it go through to the player since there's no creature? Does all the damage get dealt to Serra Angel? Does the 8 damage not go through because it is never dealt? Let me know.

Scorpse says... Accepted answer #1

Because the creature has trample, the ruels of combat will be modified.

  1. First strike step : You assign lethal damage to serra angel (4+), and the rest to the opponent. We assume that angel is dead.
  2. normal strike. Because goblin has double strike, he deals damage in this step. Even if it has no creature blocking it, he has trample that means it will give full damage to the opponent. If it did not have trample, it would have tried to deal damage again to its blockers, but since there are none, he just stops there wandering.

Overall damage is 12 to opponent, 4 to angel.

This is happening by the assumption that the blockers dies in the first strike step and goblin lives to hit the normal strike step.

February 10, 2011 9:47 a.m.

Wah6313 says... #2

Thanks Scorpse. That makes it super clear.

February 10, 2011 3:05 p.m.

This discussion has been closed