What are the exact limits to Lightning Bolt's targets

Asked by MlgMan67 7 months ago

I know the card reads "deal three damage to target creature or player", but can it target planes walkers too, with them being sub-players of sorts

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

Oracle text is "Lightning Bolt deals 3 damage to any target."

There used to be a rule that allowed the controller of the source of any non-combat damage to a player to redirect it to a planeswalker controled by the player recieving damage. They eliminated that rule and Lightning Bolt can now target any creature, player, or planeswalker.

August 7, 2018 1:21 a.m.

Neotrup says... #2

To be clear, "any target" means "target creature, planeswalker, or player." You can't Lightning Bolt an Island.

August 7, 2018 3:09 a.m.

Please login to comment