Vigor + Damage to all Creatures

Asked by philmtg1993 11 months ago

Hello Community,

I have a question about how Vigor will interact if an oponent deals combat damage to all my creatures including lethal damage to Vigor . For instance i have 4 1/1 Elves an Vigor on the battelfield and my opponent casts Star of Extinction and deals 20 damage to all creatures. Will Vigor die before his ability triggers to prevent the damage to my 4 1/1 Elves or will he prevent the damage that would be dealt to them, they will become 21/21 Elves and then he dies.

Thanks in advance for helpful answers! :)

Bulldawg1310 says... #1

I believe vigor would trigger (hahaha that rhymes) anyway, his ability triggers, then they become 21/21’s and vigor dies.

June 7, 2018 6:20 a.m.

philmtg1993 says... #2

Bulldawg1310 To my surprise the Elves survive (kinda rhymes too :P) Thx for your answers, thats what i also thought.

June 7, 2018 6:27 a.m.

Neotrup says... #3

Vigor will trigger when it's in the graveyard, but its relevant ability making your elves 21/21s is a replacement effect, so it doesn't trigger or use the stack, it replaces the damage with another event.

June 7, 2018 12:17 p.m.

philmtg1993 says... #4

Neotrup thank you, so just for clarification, all my creatures would die, did i get this right?

June 8, 2018 9:14 a.m.

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #5

No, Star of Extinction destroys a targeted land, then tries to deal 20 damage to each creature. Vigor, being a replacement effect, and not a triggered ability (like Rite of Passage) replaces the 20 damage to your other creatures with 20 +1/+1 counters being placed on them. Vigor now has 20 marked damage and your other creatures now have 20 +1/+1 counters. Now state based actions are checked and Vigor is put into your graveyard. Now Vigor's triggered ability triggers, which is his ability that shuffles him into your deck.

I trying to correct terminology, the reason Vigor works to save your creatures is precisely because it isn't a triggered ability, but rather a replacement, as it uses terms like "if" and "instead," while triggered abilities start with "when," "whenever," or "at."

June 8, 2018 11:39 a.m.

but if you control 2 Vigor you're fine.

June 8, 2018 5:28 p.m.

Neotrup says... #7

You're kinda fine either way, but 2 Vigors do keep eachother from dying.

June 10, 2018 5:03 p.m.

Please login to comment