The Locust God + Vanquisher's Banner

Asked by Bkropodra 2 years ago

if you were to have both of these out, selecting locus for the banner and draw a card starting the reaction of the two would you die? or would you have time to kill the enemy? or would you have to use a card that lets you live like Platinum Angel . or would it be best to have a card like Laboratory Maniac ?

Bkropodra says... #1

I was meaning insect in place of locus for the chosen creature type.

October 21, 2017 6:54 p.m.

Entrei says... #2

Nope not a cast trigger. Cast and create are two entirely different things

October 21, 2017 6:59 p.m.

gigagloin says... Accepted answer #3

You are not casting Insect spells, creating tokens is something else.

Casting refers to actually playing spells from your hand after paying their mana costs. Some cards allow you to cast from exile or the graveyard but that will be part of their rules text (eg Torrential Gearhulk, Victory). Cards that come into play due to an ability usually are not cast (Arbiter of the Ideal), but there are exceptions (Spawnsire of Ulamog).

October 21, 2017 7:06 p.m.

gigagloin says... #4

But, if I'm not mistaken, the interaction should be sth like this (assuming there are no other triggered effects):

If you have 20 cards in your library and activate Spawnsire of Ulamog's ability, you can cast up to 20 Eldrazi without losing the game. But since Vanquisher's Banner's effect is a trigger, you would have to draw a card when you cast the 21st Eldrazi and therefore loose.

October 21, 2017 7:11 p.m.

Guftders says... #5

The card you need to create the interaction you mentioned is Kindred Discovery choosing Insect. Of course, you'll need Laboratory Maniac in order to not die, because this isn't a may trigger.

October 22, 2017 5:41 a.m.

Gidgetimer says... #6

If you need no further clarification please select an answer to remove this from the unanswered queue. Otherwise let us know what you are still unclear on.

October 22, 2017 3:50 p.m.

Please login to comment