Valakut, the Molten Pinnacle and Scapeshift ruling question.

Asked by TheGamer 5 years ago

This is probably going to be very confusing, but im going to ask anyway...

So, the Modern deck Scapeshift wins off of playing Scapeshift when there are 7 lands out, so you can fetch one Valakut, the Molten Pinnacle and 6 mountains, hit the opponent for 18 (assuming they cracked some fetches, shocked them selves, or cast a Thoughtseize or two), am I right so far?

So, I was playing the deck and did just that. My opponent said I was doing it all wrong. He said "since the mountains enter individually, Valakut, the Molten Pinnacle will only trigger for the 6th mountain". I thought "since they all enter at the same time, there are five mountains out at the time of the trigger, so each mountain triggers Valakut, the Molten Pinnacle .

So, who's right? Who's wrong? Are we both wrong? AM I coming about this all wrong? Sorry if this is a little confusing, but im actually really stumped.

You're doing it right. They all enter at the same time and Valakut triggers for each of them for 6 triggers or 18 damage (if the triggers resolve).

July 23, 2014 1:06 p.m.

GreatSword says... Accepted answer #2

You had it right the first time; it's your opponent that is confused.

All the Mountains enter at the same time, they do not enter individually. When multiple objects leave or enter the battlefield at the same time, they can all "see" each other doing so.Since they are all entering at once, and there is at least 5 of them, they will all trigger Valakut, the Molten Pinnacle .

July 23, 2014 1:07 p.m.

TheGamer says... #3

Thanks Greatsword and fluffybunnypants! I was pretty sure I was write, but he made it sound so convincing XD

July 23, 2014 1:09 p.m.

TheGamer says... #4

Oops, GreatSword

July 23, 2014 1:10 p.m.

This discussion has been closed