Torpor Orb, Kormus Bell and Urborg interactions

Asked by CMGraves 1 year ago

A question about Lands entering with Torpor Orb , Kormus Bell and Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth on the field. From the ruling for Torpor Orb we have "Abilities that create replacement effects, such as a permanent entering the battlefield tapped or with counters on it, are unaffected." So it seems that "tapped" Lands would still enter tapped - is that correct? Another question, take Everglades for example, which says "When Everglades enters the battlefield, sacrifice it unless you return an untapped Swamp you control to its owner's hand." From my understanding this would be an ETB and I would not have to sacrifice it. To confirm, Everglades would still enter tapped but I would not have to return a swamp to my hand?

Thanks

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

You can always tell a triggered ability by the use of the words "when/whenever/at" to define what kind of event will trigger it. This is the kind of ability that Torpor Orb interacts with. You're correct that "Everglades enters the battlefield tapped" is not a triggered ability and "When Everglades enters the battlefield..." etc. is a triggered ability.

To your first question: right, the land would still enter the battlefield tapped in this example. It's not a trigger for Torpor Orb to stop, and neither Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth nor Kormus Bell do anything that would remove the ability.

To your second question: right, the ability wouldn't trigger and you don't return or sacrifice anything. In this situation there's no length of time (not even a very short one) where the Everglades is on the battlefield but not a creature. A creature entered the battlefield and an ability is about to trigger directly because of it, but Torpor Orb stops that from happening.

September 28, 2017 1:24 p.m.

CMGraves says... #2

Thanks Rhadamanthus for the quick answer

September 28, 2017 1:49 p.m.

Please login to comment