Torbran and Damage Doubling

Asked by Randomsome1 3 months ago

I'm making a Torbran, Thane of Red Fell Tim deck and I'm wondering how damage doubling effects interact with him. Would it only double the damage the creature/spell deals, or does it double the damage after Torbran's effect?

EX: Torbran, Thane of Red Fell, Furnace of Rath, and Goblin Fireslinger on the field, activate Goblin Fireslinger: does it do 4 damage or 6 damage?

Kogarashi says... Accepted answer #1

Both Torbran, Thane of Red Fell and Furnace of Rath feature replacement effects. When two or more replacement effects are altering the same event, the affected player or controller of the affected permanent is the one who chooses in what order the replacement effects apply.

So in this case, it would be the player your ping with Goblin Fireslinger who determines the order in which the effects apply, and thus how much damage they actually take.

  • 616.1. If two or more replacement and/or prevention effects are attempting to modify the way an event affects an object or player, the affected object’s controller (or its owner if it has no controller) or the affected player chooses one to apply, following the steps listed below. If two or more players have to make these choices at the same time, choices are made in APNAP order (see rule 101.4)
October 31, 2019 8:36 p.m.

Please login to comment