The Un-Storm???

Asked by Opifex 2 years ago

Ok, I stole an opponents spell with Perplexing Chimera (that stack resolves), I have Tidespout Tyrant on the field, then I cast an overloaded Cyclonic Rift targeting the Perplexing Chimera with the Tidespout Tyrant trigger.

Does the Perplexing Chimera resolve before or after the Tidespout Tyrant if they choose to take Cyclonic Rift with Perplexing Chimera ?

hyperlocke says... #1

When you cast Cyclonic Rift, both the Chimera's and the Tyrant's trigger events have happened at the same time.

If multiple abilities are put onto the stack at the same time, they go onto the stack in APNAP order (Active Player, Non-Active Player), where each player may sort the effects he controls however he likes.

The answer to your question comes down to wether you are the active player or not.

You are the active player

  • Rift is at the bottom of the stack, then the Tyrant's ability (AP), then the Chimera's (NAP).

  • Chimera resolves, your opponents now controls Rift.

  • Tyrant resolves, Chimera goes to your hand.

  • Rift resolves, all your non-land permanents go to your hand.

Your opponent is the active player

  • Rift is at the bottom of the stack, then the Chimera's ability (AP), then the Tyrant's (NAP).

  • Tyrant resolves, Chimera goes to your hand.

  • Chimera resolves, your opponents now controls Rift.

  • Rift resolves, all your non-land permanents go to your hand.

That looks rather similar, doesn't it? That's because abilities on the stack exist independently from their source. So if the Chimera or the Tyrant leave the battlefield, their abilities on the stack stay.

In the end, the result is the same. All your non-land permanents and the Chimera are returned to your hand.


Relevant rules:

603.3b If multiple abilities have triggered since the last time a player received priority, each player, in APNAP order, puts triggered abilities he or she controls on the stack in any order he or she chooses. [...]

112.7a Once activated or triggered, an ability exists on the stack independently of its source. Destruction or removal of the source after that time wont affect the ability. [...]

May 1, 2017 6:26 p.m. Edited.

acbooster says... Accepted answer #2

Triggered abilities that trigger from the same event are always put on the stack in APNAP order.

The outcome depends on whose turn it is. If it's your turn, it'll play out like this:

  1. Tyrant and Chimera both trigger, Tyrant's ability goes on the stack first.
  2. Chimera's ability goes on the stack next.
  3. Chimera's ability resolves first, giving your opponent the Cyclonic Rift (overloaded) and giving you the Chimera.
  4. Tyrant's ability resolves, returning the Chimera to your hand.
  5. Cyclonic Rift resolves, bouncing all of your nonland permanents back to your hand.

If your opponent is the active player, it'll play out like this.

  1. Tyrant and Chimera both trigger. Chimera's ability goes on the stack first.
  2. Tyrant's ability goes on the stack targeting Chimera.
  3. Tyrant's ability resolves, bouncing Chimera to your hand.
  4. Chimera's ability attempts to resolve, but since Chimera isn't there to be exchanged, nothing happens.
  5. Cyclonic Rift resolves, bouncing all of your opponent's nonlands.
May 1, 2017 6:28 p.m.

acbooster says... #3

The reason why you keep the Rift in the second situation is because you can only make the decision to exchange the Chimera and spell as the ability resolves. If both components aren't there, the exchange can't happen.

2/1/2014 If Perplexing Chimera leaves the battlefield or the spell leaves the stack before the triggered ability resolves, you cant make the exchange.

May 1, 2017 6:34 p.m.

hyperlocke says... #4

Ooooh crap, forget my answer. The Chimera has to be on the field for the ability to do something.

2/1/2014: If Perplexing Chimera leaves the battlefield or the spell leaves the stack before the triggered ability resolves, you can't make the exchange.

EDIT: Thanks for correcting me, acbooster!

May 1, 2017 6:34 p.m. Edited.

Please login to comment