The madness of jace the mindsculptor.

Asked by gnizz00 5 years ago

So with Jace, the Mind Sculptor his -12 If all cards in the opponents graveyard, hand and library is removed, wouldnt that player loose the game? That would be pretty sick if it was true!

Seraphicate says... #1

I'm not entirely sure what is being asked here ...

Jace, the Mind Sculptor's -12 ability exiles the opponent's library, then their hand is shuffled into their library; they basically don't have many turns left after that.

November 16, 2014 2:59 p.m.

Slycne says... #2

That's not exactly what Jace, the Mind Sculptor does. Jace's ult ends up making the cards currently in their hand into the only cards left in their library. Often that's still effectively a win, but it's not technically a win right that moment, unless they had zero cards in hand.

Exile all cards from target player's library, then that player shuffles his or her hand into his or her library.

November 16, 2014 3 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Jace, the Mind Sculptor's final ability reads

12: Exile all cards from target player's library, then that player shuffles his or her hand into his or her library.

Nowhere does it mention exiling any player's graveyard or hand. The target player's library is exiled, then the cards in that player's hand are shuffled and become the player's new library.

If the player's hand is empty, then his or her new library will also be empty, and he or she will lose the game the next time he or she attempts to draw a card.

November 16, 2014 3 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

@Slycne: Even if the player has zero cards in hand, he or she won't lose immediately. You don't lose the game for having an empty library. You lose the game for being forced to draw from an empty library.

November 16, 2014 3:02 p.m.

Slycne says... #5

Just to clarify as well, even if they had zero cards in hand you don't loose the game until you attempt to draw from an empty library.

November 16, 2014 3:02 p.m.

MrCheeseOnToast says... Accepted answer #6

I think I understand. Jace, the Mind Sculptor's -12 ability exiles target opponents library and they shuffle their hand into it. This means that they will usually have a maximum of 7 cards or a minimum of 0. To win this way the opponent has to run out of cards in their library, because if it is an opponents draw step and they cannot draw a card they lose. Hope this helped! :)

November 16, 2014 10:11 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #7

@MrCheeseOnToast: It doesn't necessarily have to be during a draw step. If at any time and for any reason you are required to draw a card (say someone casts Minds Aglow) and you can't, you lose as a state-based action.

November 16, 2014 10:17 p.m.

Epochalyptik that is true very true, thanks for clarifying that! :)

November 17, 2014 12:54 p.m.

gnizz00 says... #9

Thank you!

November 20, 2014 6:03 a.m.

This discussion has been closed