Tatsumasa, the Dragon's Fang in White EDH?

Asked by RainSpider 4 years ago

Can Tatsumasa, the Dragon's Fang be used in my monowhite EDH deck if it creates a blue dragon token?

canterlotguardian says... Accepted answer #1

Yes. Color identity is only determined by mana symbols in casting costs and activated abilties. You can use Tatsumasa, the Dragon's Fang in a mono-white deck, same way as you can use Nim Deathmantle in a mono-white deck, or Scalding Tarn in a deck that only uses U or R mana. Words don't count towards color identity; mana symbols do.

June 30, 2015 1:08 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #2

It should be noted that color identity also includes color indicators and characteristic-defining abilities. It's not limited to only mana symbols.

June 30, 2015 2:07 p.m.

ComradeJim270 says... #3

Also, reminder text doesn't count towards color ID. You can run extort cards in mono-white or mono-black for this reason.

June 30, 2015 2:13 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

Any mana symbols not in reminder text count; I realize the first answer says "activated abilities," which is not accurate.

June 30, 2015 2:16 p.m.

My mistake.

June 30, 2015 2:23 p.m.

This discussion has been closed