Targeting a crewed artifact while it's on the stack

Asked by TypicalTimmy 1 year ago

So the other day I was playing a 4-player EDH match. One of the players swung with their creatures, and the defending player decided to crew their Heart of Kiran to block with.

While the crew ability sat on the stack, waiting to resolve, another player cast Eviscerate , targeting Kiran.

The defending player sighed and put Kiran in their graveyard and took the combat damage.

But wasn't this technically not correct?

Kiran's ability is sitting on the stack with Eviscerate sitting on top of it. So when Eviscerate resolves first (Since it's the last item on the stack) it wouldn't have a legal target because, as of that particular moment, Kiran isn't a creature just yet.

So wouldn't Eviscerate have an illegal target and thus be sent to the graveyard without resolving, THEN Kiran becomes a creature and is now able to block the incoming attack?

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

No, it doesn't work that way, and the way it was played out in your example wasn't right either.

First, there's one big problem with the original example: Eviscerate is a sorcery, and can't be cast during combat or as a response to anything without help from other cards. Let's pretend it was a Murder instead.

If Heart of Kiran isn't actually a creature yet then the Murder can't be cast at all. You have to be able to choose legal targets in order to start casting a spell in the first place. However, after the Crew ability resolves everyone will get another chance to respond before the game moves on to the point where the defending player starts declaring blockers. Murder can be cast at this time since the Heart is now a creature.

July 2, 2018 2:12 p.m.

Please login to comment