Tap cost question

Asked by Senomar 9 months ago

Hello everyone,

I'm asking to myself a little question. Is it possible to pay cost like Lullmage Mentor by taping/untaping/taping the same creature ?

Can't find the answer on my own.

Thanks for your answer :)

Nope. The cost has to be paid all at once.

January 6, 2018 4:04 p.m.

Exotryptan says... #2

Paying for a spell is the last layer of casting it. Then it goes on to the stack. Now would be the time you could add other things on the stack to untap a merfolk for example. But the spell is already on the stack and the cost needs to be payed at that point. Hope this is not too confusing :)

January 6, 2018 4:51 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #3

Exotryptan, actually the spell/ability goes on the stack as the first step in casting/activating it. You are correct that paying costs is the last step of casting/activating spells/abilities, but the object is put on the stack as the first step. This matters in very specific corner cases such as with Acceptable Losses, when the additional cost of discarding a card a random is being payed Acceptable Losses is on the stack, not in your hand.

601.2a-i tells us that the steps to cast a spell or activate an ability are:

a Put the object on the stack.

b Announce choices for modes, kickers, buybacks, values of variables etc.

c Announce number and choice of targets,

d Announce division or distribution of effects.

e Game checks legality of casting the spell/ability and rewinds if illegal.

f Total cost of spell is calculated.

g Player gets a chance to activate mana abilities if cost includes mana payment.

h All costs are paid at the same time.

i Spell is cast or ability is activated.

January 7, 2018 4:06 p.m.

Please login to comment