Supreme Verdict and protection from X

Asked by WalzY 1 year ago

Will protection from white/blue save your creature from a Supreme Verdict?

Absinthman says... Accepted answer #1

No, it will not. Protection only prevents a permanent from being targeted, enchanted, equipped or being blocked by a source whose property it has protection from, and also prevents all damage dealt by that source. Since Supreme Verdict doesn't target and doesn't deal damage, it overcomes protection.

February 18, 2013 7:10 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #2

Protection from X means:

This object can't be dealt damage by a source of quality X

This object can't be enchanted by an Aura of quality X

This object can't be equipped by an Equipment of quality X

This object can't be blocked by a creature of quality X

This object can't be targeted by a source of quality X

Supreme Verdict doesn't attempt to do anything protection would prevent, so protection from white, blue, or sorceries wouldn't save a creature from being destroyed by Supreme Verdict .

February 18, 2013 10:58 a.m.

Absinthman says... #3

Only a little correction of Epochalyptik's post.

"This object can't be dealt damage by a source of quality X" is not exactly correct. It should be "Any damage dealt to this object by a source of quality X is prevented." This is important because some spells and effects (like Skullcrack ) can help you overcome protection in cases where the damage is not targeted (overloaded Mizzium Mortars or when a creature with protection from creatures blocks for example).

February 18, 2013 11:16 a.m.

Shane says... #4

Just remember DEBT. Dealt damage, Enchanted/equipped, Blocked, Targeted

February 18, 2013 12:27 p.m.

Please login to comment