Stupid question

Asked by Yisan 1 month ago

Ok, so it's my understanding that in edh you can't have any Mana symbols anywhere that aren't in your commanders color identity. But I've seen otherwise in edh decks. Like a mono black deck with a mono black commander but one of the creatures in the 99 has a hybrid w/b Mana symbol activated ability. So like can I run jegantha the wellspring in the 99 for omnath locus of the roil? I don't think I can but I'm curious

Mj3913 says... Accepted answer #1

What you probably saw was the rules text in Extortion which is the only exception (I'm pretty sure). If it wasn't then it's not right, but I imagine it was. To answer your question, no, you cannot because jegantha's identity is 5c and Omnath is only 3.

The only stupid questions are the unasked ones. Here's an example for clarity: You can run Blind Obedience in mono white, but not Lingering Souls

June 2, 2020 7:54 a.m. Edited.

The reason extort is an “exception “ is that the symbol is reminder text for the ability not an activation cost of the ability itself.

June 2, 2020 8:19 a.m.

Aztraeuz says... #3

If the deck was Mono-Black, the card you saw was probably Crypt Ghast.

June 2, 2020 8:25 a.m.

Joe_Ken_ says... #4

Which I think the extort ability has gotten a lot of new edh players on this rule since it is the only relevant ability with the mana symbol in the reminder text.

June 2, 2020 11:24 a.m.

Yesterday says... #5

Extort is the only keyword ability that does this, but there's also Trinisphere and Charmed Pendant which have no colour identity because the mana symbols again are in their reminder text.

The Bringer cycle including Bringer of the White Dawn have a WUBRG colour identity, but imagine if each of them had a keyword ability:

Bringer (You may pay WUBRG rather than pay this spell's mana cost.)

Then, the Bringer of the White Dawn would be legal to run in mono white decks.

June 2, 2020 11:45 a.m.

Ok, so i was wondering the same question about Civilized Scholar  Flip

June 4, 2020 2:31 p.m.

Yesterday says... #7

Though Civilized Scholar  Flip is a blue card in all zones other than on the battlefield transformed, it has a blue and red colour identity.

In the same way, Archangel Avacyn  Flip can helm a Boros Commander deck.

June 4, 2020 4:35 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #8

Yisan: A correct answers to your question have been up for a while. I marked one as the "Accepted answer" so this topic can move out of the list of unanswered questions. Please remember to take care of this yourself in the future.

June 7, 2020 1:06 p.m.

Yisan says... #9

"Rhadamanthus" I had no idea i needed to do that nor did I see anything requiring me to do so. But sure you bet got it covered for next time thanks ever so much.

June 7, 2020 3:17 p.m.

Yisan says... #10

How is the person who asks a question supposed to know what the correct answer is? If they know the correct answer why would they ask the question?

June 7, 2020 3:21 p.m.

Flooremoji says... #11

Yisan: When you see an answer that makes sense, and prefferably one that multiple people can agree on you can safely assume that it is the correct answer.

June 7, 2020 3:29 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #12

Yisan: A clear answer backed up by sound reasoning and/or rules references is a good start for something that's probably correct. If multiple users agree with that answer and/or no one responds with a correction backed up by more rules references then it's almost definitely correct. There are many knowledgeable users who pay attention to this Q&A forum, so you can trust that if someone responds with an incorrect answer, someone else will point it out and give a correction.

The green "Mark As Answer" button next to each response in the Q&A subforum is what you use to mark the accepted answer to a question. This is the only subforum on the site that has it.

June 7, 2020 9:46 p.m.

Please login to comment