Spirit Loop and "Last Known Information"

Asked by Holtzman 3 years ago

If I have a Boros Reckoner enchanted with Spirit Loop and he takes 4 damage. He dies and Boros Reckoner deals 4 damage to target creature or player goes on the stack. When that resolves it checks Boros Reckoner s "Last Known Information" as it deals damage.

Does Spirit Loop s trigger "whenever enchanted creature deals damage, you gain that much life" count as "Last Known Information?

I don't think it does because Spirit Loop s trigger comes from Spirit Loop and does not grant anything to the creature. I know if it were enchanted with Lifelink you would gain the life, but in that case Lifelink is granting an ability to the creature.

Any clarification would be very helpful

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

You have the right idea, and for the right reasons. In your example with Spirit Loop the triggered ability of the Loop doesn't exist at the time it would trigger, so it doesn't trigger. In your example with Lifelink the game would indeed use LKI and see that the object dealing the damage had lifelink.

June 11, 2016 2:35 p.m.

This discussion has been closed