Spikes

Asked by Wyrbak 5 months ago

Can a Spike Feeder pay the two mana to remove a +1/+1 counter and put it back on itself?

FancyTuesday says... Accepted answer #1

Yes, Spike Feeder's ability can target itself. There's no language in its ability preventing it from doing so. When a permanent's ability cannot target itself it's typically worded as "another target..." like you see in cards like Avacyn, Guardian Angel.

May 11, 2018 10:41 p.m.

FancyTuesday says... #2

Although, I should point out, that if removing the +1/+1 counter from Spike Feeder causes its toughness to drop to zero it will be moved to the graveyard as a state-based effect before the ability can resolve. Removing the counter is part of the payment to put the ability on the stack, and SBAs are checked every time a player gets priority.

May 11, 2018 10:45 p.m.

Wyrbak says... #3

True, but in my deck I'm running Winding Constrictor and Hardened Scales. They come into play with more counter so I have a little wiggle room. Thanks.

May 11, 2018 11:03 p.m.

Please login to comment