Spellskite spellskiting itself?

Asked by SorcerersBone 5 years ago

Ok, so if for instance my Spellskite intercepted a Lightning Bolt from an opponent, and in response that opponent cast another bolt on the spellskite anyway, could I activate the ability again targeting the first activation of spellskites ability so it would only take 3 from the second bolt and have it not take lethal damage? If so, does the first bolt continue to deal damage to its original target or does it get countered?

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

No. Spellskite 's ability can target another instance of Spellskite 's ability, but it won't do anything because Spellskite 's ability can't target Spellskite itself (which is what the redirect would make it do). The ability can only legally target a spell or another ability.

August 20, 2014 11:15 p.m.

This discussion has been closed