Song of the dryads and thespian's stage

Asked by Dashiva7 3 years ago

Example: I play Song of the Dryads on my opponents commander Aurelia, the Warleader, Then I play my Thespian's Stage and activate it's ability, targeting Aurelia. What happens? What does Thespian stage become?

rorofat says... #1

Thespian's Stage will be a colorless forest, as Song of the Dryads specifically says that the enchanted card is a colorless forest :)

April 30, 2016 10:52 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #2

Incorrect.

Copy effects copy what is written on the card as well as anything added by copy effects. Thespian's Stage becomes a normal copy of Aurelia, the Warleader and retains its own copy ability.

April 30, 2016 11:28 a.m.

PartyJ says... #3

The normal copy is not a land, doesn't this interfere with the legality of the target for Thespian's Stage?

It seems that when Epoch is true, Song of the Dryads could be a powerfull combo with Thespian's Stage to copy anything you want to have from your opponent?

April 30, 2016 11:34 a.m.

rorofat says... #4

I apologize for that answer, I must have read that wrong :)

April 30, 2016 11:49 a.m.

Gidgetimer says... #5

Targeting only checks that the target is legal when put on the stack and when resolving. It doesn't have the ability to "see ahead" to the results of the spell resolving. Normal Clone effects also only check legality of the choice when the clone spell resolves and don't see ahead. Once you accept that as true then all that remains is what the copy effect will do.

706.2. When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original objects characteristics and, for an object on the stack, choices made when casting or activating it (mode, targets, the value of X, whether it was kicked, how it will affect multiple targets, and so on). The copiable values are the values derived from the text printed on the object (that text being name, mana cost, color indicator, card type, subtype, supertype, rules text, power, toughness, and/or loyalty), as modified by other copy effects, by its face-down status, and by as . . . enters the battlefield and as . . . is turned face up abilities that set power and toughness (and may also set additional characteristics). Other effects (including type-changing and text-changing effects), status, and counters are not copied.

The result of an aura on a card is covered under "other effects" and are not copied.

April 30, 2016 11:54 a.m.

TheFoilAjani says... #6

Wait, your Thespian's Stage can be an Aurelia? Geez, I want to build that now >_>

April 30, 2016 12:32 p.m.

PartyJ says... #7

If the results of an aura fall under 'Other Effects' and are not copied, then Thespian's Stage can't target it as it's not a legal target, as the land type has been copied to it by the aura...

Judge!!

April 30, 2016 1:28 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #8

As was explained, there's a difference between what a card says and what can be copied from it.

We start with:


Aurelia, the Warleader
Legendary Creature—Angel
Flying, vigilance, haste
Whenever Aurelia, the Warleader attacks for the first time each turn, untap all creatures you control. After this phase, there is an additional combat phase.


We enchant it with Song of the Dryads:


Aurelia, the Warleader
Legendary Land—Forest
(: Add to your mana pool.)


Because Aurelia, the Warleader is now a land, it's a legal target for Thespian's Stage's second ability.


Thespian's Stage
Land
: Add to your mana pool.
, : Thespian's Stage becomes a copy of target land and gains this ability.


After its second ability resolves, it reads:


Aurelia, the Warleader
Legendary Creature—Angel
Flying, vigilance, haste
Whenever Aurelia, the Warleader attacks for the first time each turn, untap all creatures you control. After this phase, there is an additional combat phase.
, : Aurelia, the Warleader becomes a copy of target land and gains this ability.


The effect applied by Song of the Dryads is NOT copiable. This does NOT mean that it doesn't exist. Aurelia, the Warleader becomes a land, so it's a legal target for the ability. The ability won't copy the characteristics applied by Song of the Dryads, however, because those characteristics aren't defined as copiable values. The ability does NOT care that Thespian's Stage won't still be a land after the ability resolves. It doesn't even check whether that's true. It just checks whether the target is a land.

April 30, 2016 1:36 p.m.

Dashiva7 says... #9

That was the conclusion we reached when my group played last night. The biggest confusion was whether Song of the Dryads changed the actual cardname of the permanent it enchants into "Forest" also.

Very good demostration, Epochalyptik. I will use that when explaining what happens the next time we play.

April 30, 2016 1:46 p.m.

This discussion has been closed