Siren of the Fanged Coast vs Spectra Ward

Asked by ME4Twaffle 4 years ago

I have a Figure of Destiny with a Spectra Ward attached to it. My friend plays Siren of the Fanged Coast and upon explaining its ability says that he can take my Figure of Destiny if he wanted (if I don't pay tribute) because the card gives me the choice to pay or not, and him the choice of creature. I told him that it sounds like a targeted effect of a blue spell and that it wouldn't work on my FoD with Spectra Ward on it. What's the real answer?

Thanks!

Drilnoth says... #1

He could not take the creature. A creature with protection from a color cannot be the target of spells of that color or abilities of sources of that color (such as the Siren being a blue source).

November 8, 2014 3:25 p.m.

ME4Twaffle says... #2

That's my interpretation of it. He seems to think that because tribute targets ME that I'M choosing to let him take one of my creatures.

November 8, 2014 3:49 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #3

Tribute doesn't target. Reading the card and remembering that things don't target unless they use the word target yields three distinct abilities, and only the third one targets. The last ability targets a creature for him to take control of. If the creature has protection from blue it can not be the target of this ability.

November 8, 2014 4:01 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

Remember to select an answer to remove this question from the active queue.

November 8, 2014 4:06 p.m.

This discussion has been closed