Singing Bell Strike and Attacks each turn if able

Asked by MSU_Iced_Z 4 years ago

If I have six mana up and a creature (like Flamewake Phoenix ) that attacks each turn is able, but is enchanted with Singing Bell Strike , am I required to pay the mana to enable the attack? I know if you have two creatures you have to attack with both, is this a similar thing?

Thanks.

filledelanuit says... Accepted answer #1

Whenever you are required to attack or block it means that if the creature can be declared as an attacker/blocker then it must be. To be able to be declared it must be untapped and if it is an attacker it must not be summoning sick and not be a defender. You are not required to pay the 6 mana to untap the creature. In fact the game cannot ever require you to pay a cost. You always can choose not to pay a cost even costs like Pact of Negation although certain things may or may not happen if the cost isn't payed.

February 1, 2015 4:12 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #2

No. "If able" means that you attack if the creature in its current state is allowed to legally attack. It doesn't force you to pay costs to attack, as failure to pay those costs means your creature is unable to attack.

February 1, 2015 4:14 p.m.

Seraphicate says... #3

You do not have to pay the 6 mana to untap the creature, however, if Flamewake Phoenix is untapped, then it must attack.

February 1, 2015 4:15 p.m.

This discussion has been closed