Shaman of the Great Hunt ability when he dies

Asked by BGLENN68 4 years ago

So to set the scene a little bit; I am attacking with Shaman of the Great Hunt and two goblin tokens. If my Shaman of the Great Hunt is blocked by a Master of Waves and my two goblin tokens are not blocked, do my goblin tokens get the +1/+1 counters from Shaman's ability?

TheRedMage says... Accepted answer #1

All combat damage is dealt at the same time. So when the goblins deal the damage, the Shaman is still on the battlefield and the goblins get their counter. Then, the Shaman dies.

February 17, 2015 3:42 a.m.

TheRedMage says... #2

Basically: Shaman doesn't die until the rules of the game have time to check if they need to do anything (this is what judges call "checking state-based actions"), but that doesn't happen until after the damage event; by then the goblins have already dealt damage and Shaman of the Great Hunt has already triggered.

The play-by-play of what happens for those interested in hearing the legalese is as follows:

  • At the beginning of the Combat Damage step, creatures deal combat damage. Shaman of the Great Hunt attempts dealing four damage to Master of Waves but the damage is prevented due to protection from red; Master of Waves deals two damage to Shaman of the Great Hunt; the tokens each deal one damage to the defending player.
  • At this stage, Shaman of the Great Hunt is on the battlefield as a 4/2 creature with 2 damage marked on it. No other creature has any damage marked on it. As the goblins dealt damage to defending player, the triggered ability on Shaman of the Great Hunt triggers twice. The triggers are not put on the stack yet. The damage event ends.
  • Before any stack-related action happens, the rules of the game check if there are some situations that need to be mopped up (i.e. state-based actions are checked). In this case, they notice a creature with damage marked on it that is equal to its toughness and they go like "Welp, we can't have that now, can we? Better destroy that guy" and destroy the Shaman. Shaman of the Great Hunt is put into your graveyard.
  • The two triggers that triggered earlier are now put onto the stack. You decide the order (which doesn't matter in this case I guess)
  • At this point the players receive priority and the stack is resolved in the usual way.
February 17, 2015 3:58 a.m.

BGLENN68 says... #3

Thank you! All of this was very helpful.

February 17, 2015 4:10 a.m.

This discussion has been closed