Scarecrone and Displace

Asked by Catalog9000 4 months ago

I activate Scarecrone's (1) ability, targeting another Scarecrow. It goes onto the stack. I respond to this by casting Displace , targeting the Scarecrow I intended to sacrifice.

The intended Scarecrow is blinked, which removes him from Scarecrone's targeting.

Scarecrone's ability attempts to resolve; It checks to see if mana is paid and if a creature was sacrificed. The mana checks out, and the targeted creature does not check out.

Since I paid the mana, but I can not sacrifice the intended Scarecrow, do I still get to draw a card or no?

hyperlocke says... Accepted answer #1

The scarecrow isn't sacrificed as part of the effect, but as part of the cost!

Activated abilities are worded

Cost:Effect

As part of putting the ability on the stack you have to sacrifice a scarecrow. During the process of activating an ability, nobody gets priority, so nobody can do anything to the creature you chose to sacrifice.

You have to sacrifice a scarecrow just to place the ability on the stack. Nobody, not even you, can do anything to the creature you chose to sacrifice.

May 18, 2017 3:37 p.m.

colton815 says... #2

Scarecrone does not target. if the effect does not actually use the word "target", it does not target. its the same reason why Deflecting Palm can be used against Emrakul, the Aeons Torn, because the palm does not target.

May 18, 2017 9:43 p.m.

Please login to comment