Regeneration

Asked by MoFi 2 years ago

I have a feeling that I may be asking one of those questions that somebody asks every day...sorry. Forgive a new player. :) But I've had trouble finding a definitive answer for this which appears to be due to rule changes applying to regeneration (?).

Here's what I think I know:

If I am about to enter combat with a creature that can regenerate, then I must activate the regeneration before the combat phase. It can't be activated after the combat damage step to survive the combat that just happened.

But if that creature is targeted by a "destroy creature " spell or ability, then I can activate its regeneration as a response to that.

Is that about it, or am I wrong? And I apologize beforehand if this means that someone has to talk about the stack again..:)

JerichoDarkstar says... Accepted answer #1

You're mostly right.

Think of Regenerate as a "shield." You can place the Regenerate "shield" anytime on a creature before combat. Say I pay to activate Regeneration on my enchanted creature. For the rest of this turn, if it would die, I will tap (EDIT: I accidentally said untap) it and remove it from combat and remove the damage on it.

So yes, you can't activate this after combat. Putting a "shield" on something after it is hit doesn't do any good.

Depending on the ability, you can also activate this in response to other effects. If it is like Regeneration, you can activate it at instant speed. This is probably the case for every card with Regenerate unless the card specifically says, "activate only as a sorcery."

March 7, 2017 12:42 p.m. Edited.

MoFi says... #2

Fantastic. Thanks for the straightforward clarification I've been looking for.:) Wow...my question was only up for 7 minutes.

March 7, 2017 12:47 p.m.

I'm a ninja

March 7, 2017 12:59 p.m.

MoFi says... #4

From the desk of Jericho Darkstar...:)

enter image description here

March 7, 2017 1:24 p.m.

Lol, ok... that may have made my entire week! Thank you.

March 7, 2017 2:10 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #6

Note that you can regenerate during the combat phase; just not during or after the combat damage step. You can regenerate during the beginning of combat step, declare attackers step, or declare blockers step.

March 7, 2017 2:14 p.m.

Please login to comment