Regarding Skullbriar and -1 counters
Asked by Saidan 6 months agoSimple scenario, I drop Skull from Command Zone in turn 2, opponent responds with Scar, thus placing a -1/-1 counter on it and killing it. Considering that the card states "Counters remain on Skullbriar as it moves to any zone other than a player's hand or library", does this mean that the card is basically unplayable at this point? I mean, it can still be casted, but it will always have 0 life, so it will immediately die as a state based action. Is it possible to buff it with ETB triggers placing +1s on it, or will it simple die before that? Thank you.
It's going to be tricky to get Skullbriar onto the board in your example. With the way the timing rules for SBAs and triggered abilities work, SBAs are checked and executed right before triggered abilities would even be put onto the stack. You need either a static +/+ effect (Gaea's Anthem, etc.) or an "enters with additional +1/+1 counters" effect (Savage Summoning, etc.).
January 11, 2018 3:48 p.m.
All kinds of counters will stick on Skullbriar, the Walking Grave, not just his own +1/+1 counters, so yeah, it will be a 0/0 creature, which indeed basically renders it unplayable.
It can't be buffed by ETB trigger effects, since state based actions will be checked before any trigger resolves. Static effects, such as Always Watching or Creakwood Liege, will be applied and it will survive as a 2/2 creature, with a -1/-1 counter on it.
Otherwise you could let it go to the graveyard and put it in your hand with some sort of Cadaver Imp effect.
January 11, 2018 3:55 p.m.
Understood, thank you for the replies and the format tip!