Rebound on cards that exile themselves

Asked by BlueScope 4 years ago

I control Cast Through Time , and cast Spelltwine . I choose both spells, which I know won't get rebound. However, do I get to cast Spelltwine again in the next upkeep, even though it exiled itself as part of it's effect?

On a different note, if I cast something like Reverberate to copy an instant or sorcery while I control Cast Through Time , can I stack the spells in the same order in the following upkeep to copy the spell again?

GoblinsInc says... Accepted answer #1

For spelltwine, you exile the spell as part of its resolution so rebound can't apply (rebound replaces the spell going to the graveyard as it resolves).

March 24, 2015 4:26 p.m.

BlueScope says... #2

Rebound says "If this spell was cast from your hand, instead of putting it into your graveyard as it resolves, exile it" - which doesn't sound like a requirement, unlike "If this spell was cast from your hand, if it would be put into your graveyard as it resolves, exile it instead".

Now of course, I might be wrong and those mean the same thing... I don't see a problem in exiling a spell from exile, seen much weirder things happening in MTG :)

March 24, 2015 4:45 p.m.

GoblinsInc says... #3

Rebound works as a replacement effect. If the spell wouldn't go to your graveyard as it resolves then there is nothing for it to replace.

March 24, 2015 4:57 p.m.

BlueScope says... #4

Ah, I see... Thanks for clearing that up!

March 24, 2015 5:03 p.m.

This discussion has been closed