Questions about sacrificing creatures

Asked by Monomanamaniac 2 years ago

OK so this is actually a couple questions in one. Firstly, if I have an Endrek Sahr, Master Breeder in play and I play creatures enough to put enough thrulls into play, can I sacrifice him with Bubbling Cauldron after the tokens come into play but before he would otherwise die. Secondly, if I have a Festering Newt and I equip it with Skullclamp is there a way I could sacrifice it with Bubbling Cauldron before it would die from 0 toughness?

DRACULA150704 says... Accepted answer #1

Question 1- Yes because his ability goes on the stack.

Question 2- No, because having 0 or less toughness is a State based effect which means it checks before every card on the stack resolves.

November 3, 2017 3:42 a.m.

Monomanamaniac says... #2

I just searched for skullclamp questions and found out the second. Glad I can do the first though, I love stuffing useless creatures into the cauldron when I wouldn't be able to do anything with them anyways.

November 3, 2017 3:49 a.m.

DRACULA150704 says... #4

Yeah, I have a Ghoulcaller Gisa deck so I attack with my creature and then if it would die I use Ghoulcaller Gisa to sacrifice it and get some zombies

November 3, 2017 9:27 p.m.

Monomanamaniac says... #5

Nice. That could be abused by Skullclamp so much. As long as your creature has 2 toughness it'll give you 1 more zombie, plus you'd get to draw 2. Skirsdag High Priest would be nice too, as you could tap the zombies to put a 5/5 demon out, which you could clamp and kill the next turn for even more zombies

November 3, 2017 11:39 p.m.

DRACULA150704 says... #6

Yes- All of those cards are in my Ghoulcaller Gisa/zombies/demons deck.

November 4, 2017 4:16 a.m.

Please login to comment