Purphoros, God of the Forge into Purphoros, God of the Forge?

Asked by Wabbbit 4 years ago

So, what happens in this situation: my opponent is at one life and I have a Purphoros, God of the Forge on the field with a Purphoros, God of the Forge in hand. I cast my Purphoros, and what happens? Does the Purphoros on the field trigger, winning me the game, then they both die? Or do they die, and no trigger happens and the game goes on? Thanks in advance!

Bellock86 says... #1

It would go like the this:

Purphoros in play

1) play "new" purphoros2) trigger from existing puphoros would go on stack3) you then have to select ONE of the purphoros to go to graveyard then the 2 damage from creature play would kill you opponent.

There is one very important thing that ths depends on though. You'd have to have devotion to red of 5 or greater to get the damage effect at all.

September 22, 2013 8:53 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

Well, the M14 rules update changed the legend rule. Now, if a single player controls multiple instances of the same legendary permanent, he or she puts all but one into their owner's graveyards.

It doesn't really matter, though. The second Purphoros, God of the Forge will enter the battlefield, triggering the first Purphoros, God of the Forge 's triggered ability. Before the ability is put onto the stack, state-based actions will cause you to put one instance of Purphoros, God of the Forge into its owner's graveyard. Then, the triggered ability will be put onto the stack. It will resolve regardless of whether the source creature is on the battlefield or not.

September 22, 2013 8:55 p.m.

Bellock86 says... #3

Otherwise the new puphoros would not be a creature when entering the battlefield

September 22, 2013 8:55 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

@Bellock86: Almost correct. SBAs are handled before triggered abilities are put onto the stack, though. Good point about devotion, though.

September 22, 2013 8:57 p.m.

Bellock86 says... #5

Thanks Epochalyptik. I've been trying to pay much closer attention to nuances of verbiage in rules and abilities. Especially in relation to how rules effect abilities. (As I was previously making mistakes in that area quite frequently)

September 22, 2013 9:03 p.m.

nathanwobbe says... #6

So how about this:

I have a Legion Loyalist, a Boros Reckoner, and a Purphoros on the field.I also have a Legions Initiative.I have 6 mana up and a second Purphoros in hand.I use Legions Initiative's ability to exile my creatures, then cast the second Purphoros.At the beginning of the next combat they come back. Do both Purphoros's get their triggers on the stack? And do they see each other and trigger for each other? Do I end up dealing 12 damage to my opponent?


November 11, 2013 8:59 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #7

@nathanwobbe: You should create a new thread instead of posting in such an old one. Also, link the cards in your question.
Legion Loyalist
Boros Reckoner
Purphoros, God of the Forge
Legion's Initiative

In order for a god to enter as a creature, its devotion needs to be high enough before it enters. Because your devotion to red will only be one when the creatures return to the battlefield from exile (you control one Purphoros, God of the Forge ), the exiled Purphoros, God of the Forge will enter the battlefield as an enchantment, but not a creature.

You'll get four total triggers - two from each Purphoros, God of the Forge .

November 11, 2013 9:07 p.m.

nathanwobbe says... #8

But won't it see the other creatures enter as well? Thus becoming a creature as it enters the battlefield?

November 11, 2013 9:17 p.m.

nathanwobbe says... #9

"As long as your devotion to red is less than five, Purphoros isn't a creature.""Whenever another creature enters the battlefield under your control, Purphoros deals 2 damage to each opponent."

So when the other two creatures enter the battlefield along with the first http://tappedout.net/mtg-card/purphoros-god-of-the-forge/ They will check my devotion and see a total of 6 and thus both be creatures when their abilities go on the stack. Right?

November 11, 2013 9:23 p.m.

nathanwobbe says... #10

From Gatherer rulings:

9/15/2013 If an activated ability or triggered ability has an effect that depends on your devotion to a color, you count the number of mana symbols of that color among the mana costs of permanents you control as the ability resolves. The permanent with that ability will be counted if its still on the battlefield at that time.

9/15/2013 The type-changing ability that can make the God not be a creature functions only on the battlefield. Its always a creature card in other zones, regardless of your devotion to its color.

9/15/2013 If a God enters the battlefield, your devotion to its color (including the mana symbols in the mana cost of the God itself) will determine if a creature entered the battlefield or not, for abilities that trigger whenever a creature enters the battlefield.

Form what I can tell by this, I would deal 12 damage in the above scenario.

November 12, 2013 8:04 p.m.

nathanwobbe says... #11

Hmm... Slight correction. Since the second Purphoros is already in the battlefield when the first one returns from exile. The first Purphoros will only count the other two creatures that enter with him. The second Purphoros will count the first one as well as the other two creatures for a total of 10 damage.

November 12, 2013 8:08 p.m.

raithe000 says... #12

It would not. Do to how the replacement effects work, Purphoros will not enter as a creature, and will not trigger the other Purphoros, despite the fact that it will be a creature when it is on the battlefield. The reasoning behind this is supported by the rules, but is highly technical, so I'll only get into it if you really want to.

BTW, even if Purphoros did enter as a creature, you would still only have 5 triggers, 1 from each Purphoros for the Loyalist and Reckoner, but since Purphoros's ability only triggers when another creature enters the battlefield, it will not trigger itself, so you would only get 1 trigger if it entered as a creature.

November 12, 2013 8:11 p.m.

This discussion has been closed