Protean Raider copying Creatures with Flash Question

Asked by Keane 5 months ago

Does Protean Raider copy the targeted creatures flash ability in a way that allows it to be played as an instant during the Combat Phase?

Scenario:

2 Sulfur Falls, 1 Dragonskull Summit and 1 Dire Fleet Poisoner are in play; Protean Raider in hand

Combat Phase begins and Dire Fleet Poisoner declared as an attacker.

Can I tap the necessary mana to cast Protean Raider during the Declare Attackers Phase and choose to copy Dire Fleet Poisoner in order to use the triggered +1/+1 from the Protean Raider copy of Dire Fleet Poisoner on the attacking Dire Fleet Poisoner BEFORE the Declare Blockers Phase begins?

Thank you!

BodhiQL says... Accepted answer #1

I don't believe so. Protean Raider doesn't have Flash when it is cast, because it enters the battlefield as a copy of the Dire Fleet Poisoner, not cast as a copy. I am pretty sure this is the case but someone should double check my reasoning.

May 16, 2018 9:29 a.m.

cdkime says... #2

BodhiQL is correct--I'll second their reasoning.

Minor sidebar: There is a "Rules Q&A" section (linked on the menu bar at the top) for these kinds of questions.

May 16, 2018 10:04 a.m.

Uri says... #3

Unfortunately, no. Protean Raider's ability only activates AS it enters the battlefield (and checks if you attacked with a creature). While in hand or during cast, he's just a 3/3 1UR creature shapeshifter spell

May 17, 2018 12:06 a.m.

Please login to comment