Perilous Vault and Shorecrasher Elemental

Asked by BlackDogRunnin 4 years ago

I have Perilous Vault and Shorecrasher Elemental in play. I pay a blue and put shores exile ability on the stack, then blow the vault exiling everything. Will shorecrashers ability bring it back from exile?

BlueScope says... #1

You misunderstand Shorecaster's ability - it will exile Shorecaster, then - before anything else happens - return it to the battlefield. Perilous Vault will either resolve before or after that, but one way or another, your Shorecaster will be exiled by Perilous Vault's ability.

June 9, 2015 7:30 a.m.

merrowMania says... #2

It will not be brought back out of exile. When the Perilous Vault exiles it, Shorecrasher Elemental becomes a new object that is independent of the ability.

June 9, 2015 7:47 a.m.

BlackDogRunnin says... #3

The way I'm stacking the triggers from vault and shorecrasher would be so that vaults exile ability resolves before shorecrashers. Shorecrasher would be exiled by the vault, not by its own ability. I was thinking its ability might still resolve after vault and bring it back since shorecrasher would see itself in exile and return.

June 9, 2015 7:53 a.m.

merrowMania says... Accepted answer #4

When the Perilous Vault ability resolves, the Shorecrasher Elemental becomes a new object in exile that is independent from the ability still on the stack.

June 9, 2015 8 a.m.

BlackDogRunnin says... #5

Ok, I understand how it works now. It did seem too good to be true, but that's how cards broken. Thank you both.

June 9, 2015 8:04 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #6

There are no triggers involved here. These are activated abilities.

June 9, 2015 12:23 p.m.

DJSeras says... #7

Just as a note, When a card refers to itself by name it is a shorthand for saying "This permanent" and if an ability refers to a permanent on the battlefield by name it requires that permanent to still be there

June 9, 2015 2:13 p.m.

This discussion has been closed