On death trigger with flickering

Asked by 220ave220 3 years ago

Say I have a card such as Demon of Dark Schemes on the battlefield. If i use a card such as Acrobatic Maneuver to flicker another creature, do i still get the energy associated with Demon of Dark Schemes Ability since technically it died temporarily?

BlueScope says... Accepted answer #1

Technically, it didn't die, as dieing means going from the battlefield to the graveyard. If you flicker a creature, it will leave the battlefield, but it doesn't go to the graveyard. So no, you don't.

In case you meant flickering a creature with 0 or less toughness after the Demon's ability has resolved - that won't work, as state-based actions kill the creature before you get the chance to flicker it.

And in case you meant flickering a creature in response to the Demon's ability - that will work, however not do a whole lot (excpt trigger ETB abilities), as the resolving ability will still give the creature -2/-2 and kill it if it's toughness is 0 or less.

September 28, 2016 2:29 a.m.

This discussion has been closed