Necromancy + Zur the Enchanter

Asked by notorius-B.D.A.W.G 6 months ago

If I attack with Zur the Enchanter and put Necromancy onto my battlefield, does its first ability make me sacrifice it at the beginning of the next cleanup step? I think not, since it wasn't cast.

Kogarashi says... Accepted answer #1

Per the Gatherer rulings:

The sacrifice occurs only if you cast it using its own ability. If you cast it using some other effect (for instance, if it gained flash from Vedalken Orrery), then it won’t be sacrificed. (2009-10-01)

This would indeed include using Zur the Enchanter to cheat it onto the battlefield. Because it wasn't specifically cast using its first ability, you won't have to sacrifice Necromancy .

As a note, if you cast Necromancy as normal without using its first ability to cast it at instant speed, you also wouldn't have to sacrifice it.

February 22, 2019 11:31 a.m.

Please login to comment