Necromancy + Clever Impersonator

Asked by Emzed 4 years ago

If i cast Necromancy and return Clever Impersonator to the battlefield, i can choose to copy Necromancy with the Impersonator. So, my Impersonator enters the battlefield as a copy of Necromancy, not as a creature. What happens to my Necromancy then? Is it going to the graveyard? And how is my Impersonator affected?

GreatSword says... Accepted answer #1

This is the Orcacle text for Necromancy :

  • You may cast Necromancy as though it had flash. If you cast it any time a sorcery couldn't have been cast, the controller of the permanent it becomes sacrifices it at the beginning of the next cleanup step.When Necromancy enters the battlefield, if it's on the battlefield, it becomes an Aura with "enchant creature put onto the battlefield with Necromancy." Put target creature card from a graveyard onto the battlefield under your control and attach Necromancy to it. When Necromancy leaves the battlefield, that creature's controller sacrifices it.

So your original Necromancy will be attached to a new Necromancy , and the new Necromancy will trigger. However, the old Necromancy will be attached to an illegal object and will go to the graveyard, triggering the old Necromancy's last abiity to sacrifice the new Necromancy.

You now have 2 triggered abilities to put on the stack: the new Necromancy's reanimate trigger and the old Necromancy's sacrifice trigger. You have two choices:

If you put the sac trigger on top, nothing will happen, because of Necromancy 's intervening "if" clause in its reanimate ability.

If you put the Reanimate trigger on top, you'll choose a creature from a graveyard to put on the battlefield and attach the new Necromancy to it. then the sac trigger will resolve and the new Necromancy will be sacrificed, triggering the reanimated creature to be sacrificed as well.

October 26, 2014 3:29 p.m.

This discussion has been closed