Naga Vitalist and Weird Lands

Asked by Jimmy_Chinchila 3 months ago

Naga Vitalist checks the type of mana a land could produce, and there are some lands that could produce any color but there are stipulations. Unclaimed Territory can make any color, but it becomes restricted for what it can be spent on. Can Vitalist then make any color? Similarly, Cascading Cataracts also has an ability to make any color, and while I’m not sure it isn’t even also considered a mana ability even though it doesn’t have a color icon, Vitalist doesn’t say the type must be produced by tapping only with no additional costs. It is a land, and it can produce any color potentially so it should allow Vitalist to do the same, like Mana Confluence but with a mana cost instead of life. Help!

ClockworkSwordfish says... Accepted answer #1

In all of the cases you listed, Naga Vitalist can indeed make one mana of any colour. She cares not about the cost or legality of the mana-producing abilities, nor any restrictions or riders on the mana produced. It's simply a checklist: is there any possibility you can make this colour? If yes, then the Vitalist can as well. Reflecting Pool works the same way.

You can see the rulings in an official capacity on the Vitalist's Gatherer page.

May 13, 2018 1:51 p.m.

Awesome thank you

May 14, 2018 12:19 a.m.

Please login to comment