My opponent activates Longtusk Cub s ability 3 times, at once, using all his energy. Can I respond by killing it with Harnessed Lightning ?

Asked by Cookieboy1221 2 years ago

Relevent Board State:

Opponent: Longtusk Cub and 7 energy.

My Side: Nothing except 2 mana untapped.

He attacks with the Cub I declare no blockers. He uses 6 energy in one go to buff the cub 3 times. I resond by casting Harnessed Lightning . Does the Harnessed Lightning kill it?

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #1

It depends. You and your opponent must specify if he is allowing each ability to resolve before activating again, or if he is responding to his own activations with another one, and you should specify at what point you are responding.

This is one of those situations where playing it out slowly and correctly matters.

Most likely, your opponent activated the ability, let it resolve, then immediately activated again. If so, then your spell cannot kill it, because in response to your spell he can buff his creature beyond 3 toughness.

December 3, 2016 3:27 p.m.

Named_Tawyny says... #2

Unless your opponent specifically specified that they wanted all three activations on the stack at once, the shortcut policy to tournament rules is that we can assume that they'd be letting one resolve first and then activating the next.

Tournament rules around shortcutting

December 3, 2016 6:16 p.m.

Named_Tawyny says... #3

(Which means that likely, no, the Harnessed Lightning does not kill it)

December 3, 2016 6:25 p.m.

This discussion has been closed