Morophon, the Boundless and enter as a copy

Asked by Dauderess 10 months ago

If I use Morophon, the Boundless as a commander for an eldrazi deck and im playing Altered Ego in it will the Altered Ego get the mana reduction from morophon or no?

legendofa says... #1

When you cast it, Altered Ego is a Shapeshifter without Changeling--it only has one creature type. It doesn't become a copy of another creature until it resolves and enters the battlefield. Altered Ego would not get the Morophon, the Boundless discount unless you chose Shapeshifter with Morophon.

July 13, 2019 2:24 p.m.

Kogarashi says... Accepted answer #2

The problem is that Morophon, the Boundless gives a discount to casting spells with the creature type. Altered Ego is only cast as a Shapeshifter. It enters the battlefield as a copy of the chosen creature, but by then it's too late to receive Morophon's discount.

July 13, 2019 3:08 p.m.

Please login to comment