Merieke Ri Berit and phasing
Asked by cr14mson 4 years agoSo what happens when I cast Teferi's Curse on a creature I controlled with Merieke Ri Berit ? Next turn it phases out, I untap Merieke with Thassa's Ire then fetch another creature from my opponent's field. Next turn the enchanted creature phases back in still UNDER MY CONTROL. Is this correct?
I had to do a little bit of research to answer this. After some comp rules reading I believe I have the answer. I want to thanks you for asking this question, it is always useful to have bizarre question when studying the rules.
A phased out permanent still has all CDAs that were previously applied to it. In this case her CDA still give you control. When her ability triggers the other creature will be phased out and thus nothing will happen to it. It will phase in still under your control.
Some more specific stuff: When an object phases out is stays the same object. In this case this means the Merieke Ri Berit's linked ability is still linked to the captured creature. So if you lose control of Merieke Ri Berit you will lose control of all creatures you got with her even if they are phased out.
I believe that if Merieke Ri Berit leaves the battlefield or become untapped she will trigger for each creature not just the one's that she hasn't yet triggered for. I am not positive about this however so I'll ask Epochalyptik for help here.
February 1, 2015 10:59 p.m.
There are no Characteristic Defining Abilities (CDAs) involved. An object phasing in always phases in under the control of whoever controlled it when it phased out. Any effects that were applying to it when it phased out that haven't yet expired will still apply to it when it phases back in. This means the creature stays under your control when it phases in because Merike's effect still applies to it. Your trick works.
February 1, 2015 11:29 p.m.
I need to get some sleep. I meant control changing effects.