Mereike interaction with Indestructibility.

Asked by Husky 5 months ago

Q1) I control a Merieke Ri Berit and I activate her ability to gain control of an apponent's creature. I then attach Darksteel Plate to that creature and manage to untap Merieke Ri Berit . I use Mereike again to gain control of a second creature and switch the Darksteel Plate to the second creature I control. At the end of turn an opponent destroys Merieke Ri Berit . What happens to the first creature I controlled?

Q2) I control a Merieke Ri Berit and I activate her ability to gain control of an apponent's creature. I then attach Darksteel Plate to that creature. Merieke Ri Berit is then destroyed and at some point that Darksteel Plate is exiled. I recast Merieke Ri Berit a second time and it is immediately destroyed for a second time. What happens to the no longer indestructible creature that I had taken control of?

metalmagic says... Accepted answer #1

The answer to both your questions is this: you shouldn't have control of that (or those) creatures any more. Merieke Ri Berit says you gain control of a creature as long as you control her, so if at any point you don't control her and the stolen creature isn't destroyed by her effect, it then returns to its owner with the Darksteel Plate still attached until you re-equip to something else.

April 25, 2019 10:17 a.m.

Kogarashi says... #2

For question 1, when Merieke Ri Berit becomes untapped, her destroy trigger will try to destroy any creature stolen by her. Since you have Darksteel Plate on the creature in question, it won't be destroyed (this time). Then you steal a second creature and switch the Plate, so you control two creatures, one of which has Darksteel Plate on it.

When your opponent destroys Merieke Ri Berit , her trigger goes on the stack and you lose control of both creatures (the Darksteel stays on the second creature until you re-equip it). When the trigger resolves, the first creature will be destroyed unless its controller finds a way to save it, while the second creature will be protected by the Darksteel Plate .

For question 2, if the Darksteel Plate is exiled before Merieke Ri Berit is destroyed, then the creature she stole is returned to its previous controller and then destroyed. If the Darksteel is still around when Merieke is destroyed, then the creature is returned to its previous controller and the trigger tries to destroy it but can't. After that point, even if Merieke Ri Berit is re-cast and then destroyed again, nothing happens to the creature she previously stole because you don't control it (Merieke is a new permanent with no memory of its previous existence, including creatures it stole).

April 25, 2019 11:42 a.m.

Please login to comment