Mayael'ing in creatures with "as it is cast" abilities

Asked by hedgehogs_ftw 5 years ago

If I use Mayael of the Anima to put Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre into play, will his ability that says "when you cast Ulamog, destroy target permanent" go off? Not sure if Mayael'ing counts as casting.

hedgehogs_ftw says... #1

Mayael the Anima sorry, link didn't work

March 19, 2013 9:36 p.m.

Devonin says... Accepted answer #2

Oh look, it's the answer I was mistakenly giving on the Melira one!

Putting things onto the battlefield does not count as casting them. So if Ulamog said "When it enters the battlefield" it would work, but since it needs you to cast it, it doesn't work when you Mayael it into play.

March 19, 2013 9:39 p.m.

hedgehogs_ftw says... #3

awesome thanks, I suspected as much. Definitely good to know before I acquired a $25+ card for a Mayael deck :P

March 19, 2013 9:46 p.m.

Devonin says... #4

Man, the first EDH deck I ever made was a Mayael deck, and I had the worst luck you have no idea. I think I went something like 12 consecutive fail-to-finds across probably 20 games, most of which I wasn't allowed to untap with her already in play.

It was the moment I decided that if I needed to play a general, and have it still be alive the next turn before I could do anything with it, I'd just not use it.

March 19, 2013 9:49 p.m.

This discussion has been closed