Mairsil + Kaho + Scarab god

Asked by EllNubNub 9 months ago

was looking into the Mairsil, the Pretender and Kaho, Minamo Historian combo to find out if it worked (yes it works per instance of the card i.e. if u replay or bounce mairsil you wont be able to cast anything previously exiled with her, just stuff u exile after while she is on the board) and was thinking if i exiled both kaho and the scarab god with cage counters, could i cast any card i exiled with the scarab god's exile ability (because when u exile anything with mairsil any words in activated texts that refer to a specific card now reference mairsil). I think the answer to this is yes, but i am no judge and i would like an official ruling.

EllNubNub says... #1

never mind. just read the ruling on Kaho that states " Kahos activated ability refers only to cards exiled by its triggered ability. If another effect exiled the cards, you wont be able to use Kaho to cast those cards." which is completely stupid if u ask me. her second ability is worded as if it does not matter how u exiled the cards. just another terribly worded card. sorry for taking anyones time.

February 13, 2018 2:39 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #2

So you know: Kaho, Minamo Historian's abilities are something that the detailed rules of the game call "linked abilities", and there are special rules for them. If you want to read more about linked abilities for yourself you can go through Section 607 of the Comprehensive Rules (the section is too long to quote here in its entirety), but here are the rules from that section most directly related to Kaho:

607.1. An object may have two abilities printed on it such that one of them causes actions to be taken or objects or players to be affected and the other one directly refers to those actions, objects, or players. If so, these two abilities are linked: the second refers only to actions that were taken or objects or players that were affected by the first, and not by any other ability.

607.2a If an object has an activated or triggered ability printed on it that instructs a player to exile one or more cards and an ability printed on it that refers either to "the exiled cards" or to cards "exiled with [this object]," these abilities are linked. The second ability refers only to cards in the exile zone that were put there as a result of an instruction to exile them in the first ability.

This is why the ability Mairsil, the Pretender gains from Kaho can't be used to gain access to any cards Mairsil exiles in some other way.

February 13, 2018 10:35 a.m.

Please login to comment