Losing Double Strike

Asked by chosenone124 1 week ago

My opponent has a Sorin, Lord of Innistrad emblem and attacks with Adorned Pouncer. I block with my Ranging Raptors.

The first strike hits for 2 damage. If I use Sudden Spoiling before on my opponent, will the Adorned Pouncer still strike for normal strike and kill my Raptors?

chosenone124 says... #1

Sudden Spoiling is cast after the first strike hits but before the second strike

June 11, 2018 5:58 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #2

No, Adorned Pouncer won't deal combat damage again if it no longer has double strike. This is covered in the details of the following rule:

510.4 If at least one attacking or blocking creature has first strike (see rule 702.7) or double strike (see rule 702.4) as the combat damage step begins, the only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are those with first strike or double strike. After that step, instead of proceeding to the end of combat step, the phase gets a second combat damage step. The only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are the remaining attackers and blockers that had neither first strike nor double strike as the first combat damage step began, as well as the remaining attackers and blockers that currently have double strike. After that step, the phase proceeds to the end of combat step.

June 11, 2018 1:24 p.m.

Madcookie says... #3

@Rhadamanthus however shouldn't his Ranging Raptors die since it already has 2 damage dealt on it from the first strike then its toughness becomes 0/2 before normal damage phase?

June 11, 2018 7:15 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #4

No, because Sudden Spoiling doesn't affect all creatures, just the ones controlled by the player it's targeting. Ranging Raptors is still a 2/3.

June 11, 2018 8:38 p.m.

Madcookie says... #5

Ah, my bad I completely misred the card. For some reason I've always thought it said all creatures.

June 12, 2018 12:18 a.m.

Please login to comment