Asked by ginko2580 3 years ago
Is a Mountain (or other 3 Basic Lands, a Shock, a Fetch, or a Check land, Etc.) in my Library a Swamp also?
If an effect use the name of a permanent type (creature, artifact, land, etc.), and doesn't also say "spell", or "card" and mention another zone, it only means permanents of that type on the battlefield. Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth only affects lands on the battlefield, not in any other zone. In your example you can only use Liliana of the Dark Realms to get actual Swamp cards (Swamp, Godless Shrine, Bayou, Leechridden Swamp, etc.).
November 29, 2014 9:44 a.m.
It just Says ''Each land is a swamp in addition to it's other land types". yes, you are right, it doesn't say where or in a zone.... Lands my Opponents OWN are swamps... Lands I OWN are swamps... "EACH LAND" we Own, Control, Have, Etc. are Swamps.....
November 29, 2014 9:58 a.m.
in the rulings in the Gatherer is does say:
"Urborgs ability causes each land on the battlefield to have the land type Swamp. Each land thus has the ability T: Add B to your mana pool. Nothing else changes about those lands, including their names, other subtypes, other abilities, and whether theyre legendary or basic."
There is no mention of Libraries or Graveyards.....
November 29, 2014 10:01 a.m.
Cards can only be lands when they are on the battlefield. Anywhere else they are "land cards". Since Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth only affects lands, and not land cards, its ability's effect is limited to the battlefield.
This is for the same reason that a card like Murder can only target a creature on the battlefield (since it isn't a creature anywhere else), and why Worldly Tutor specifies you search your library for a creature card (because if it just said creature, you could never find anything).
November 29, 2014 10:37 a.m.
Right, I was giving the reasons behind my answer, explaining why it works this way (and giving some info that can be used to answer other questions) instead of just saying "no".