Lightning Greaves and Spellskite interaction

Asked by Minelia5 4 years ago

If my opponent has a Spellskite with Lightning Greaves attached to it, can he "fizzle" my spells with a target in them by paying a blue or 2 life?

Slycne says... #1

This is one of those times when it's a good idea to check Gatherer first.

You can activate Spellskite's ability even if Spellskite wouldn't be a legal target for the spell or ability. However, the target of that spell or ability will remain unchanged.

They can activate it all they want, but it won't redirect it.

December 4, 2014 7:37 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

No.

Your opponent can still activate Spellskite's ability targeting your spells, but he can only change the target of your spells if Spellskite is a legal target for the spell.

Always check the Gatherer rulings before asking a question.

6/1/2011: You can activate Spellskite's ability even if Spellskite wouldn't be a legal target for the spell or ability. However, the target of that spell or ability will remain unchanged.

6/1/2011: If changing one target of a spell or ability to Spellskite would make other targets of that spell or ability illegal, the targets remain unchanged.

December 4, 2014 7:38 p.m.

Minelia5 says... #3

Sorry, I'll make sure to do that next time! Thanks for answering although I didn't check!

December 4, 2014 7:42 p.m.

This discussion has been closed