Kaalia, Iona and Comeuppance

Asked by Warxuaroz 2 years ago

My opponent has Kaalia of the Vast on board and Iona, Shield of Emeria and Avacyn, Angel of Hope in hand. I on the other hand (mine) have a Comeuppance . Can I cast it in response to declare attackers or I can't do anything after I pass priority after changing to combat step?

Gidgetimer says... #1

Once all players pass over an empty stack on the beginning of combat step the game moves to the declare attackers step and attackers are declared as a turn based action before any player receives priority. After attacks are declared but before the declare blockers step there is another round or priority. If kaalia was declared an attacker her trigger will go on the stack at this point.

July 1, 2017 11:06 p.m.

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #2

You can respond to Kaalia of the Vast's trigger with Comeuppance, however if your opponent is cleaver that just means they'll use the trigger to put Avacyn, Angel of Hope onto the battlefield and your Comeuppance is just a Fog. If you wait for that ability to resolve they could instead put in Iona, Shield of Emeria naming white, and by the time they've decided what creature to bring in it's too late to cast Comeuppance. In short, if you're hoping Comeuppance will kill Kaalia and Iona, you'll have to rely on a serious misplay from your opponent, or for them to name a color other than white.

July 2, 2017 2:37 a.m.

Please login to comment