Ischron scepter and additional cost

Asked by hinkelman1990 2 weeks ago

Ok so I know I can splice spells into a instant imprinted into a Isochron Scepter what I want to know is if Goblin Electromancer reduces the additional cost of the splice into arcane spells casted by Isochron Scepter like it would when you cast them from your hand

Funkydiscogod says... #1

Yes.

September 7, 2017 9:38 a.m.

chosenone124 says... #2

It does not reduce the cost on the Splice ability. The Splice ability is not an alternate casting cost.

September 7, 2017 2:55 p.m.

Funkydiscogod says... #3

12/1/2004 The cost reduction applies to the total cost of the Arcane spell, including any additional costs from cards spliced onto it. However, the cost reduction applies only once to each Arcane spell. For example, if you cast an Arcane spell with mana cost and splice onto it a card whose splice cost is , then the spell costs to cast. If you cast an Arcane spell with mana cost and splice onto it a card whose splice cost is , the spell costs to cast.

The answer is yes, it reduces the cost of the Splice ability. The Splice ability is an additional cost.

September 7, 2017 4:38 p.m.

hinkelman1990 says... #4

Ok so I can for sure imprint a Peer Through Depths onto the Isochron Scepter and I could splice Glacial Ray into Peer Through Depths even those it's a copy produced by Isochron Scepter and the cost reduction from Goblin Electromancer will still apply to the cards I splice into the copy?

September 7, 2017 8:10 p.m.

Funkydiscogod says... Accepted answer #5

Yes. You would pay only for the Peer Through Depths with Glacial Ray splice (in addition to the cost to activate the ability of the Isochron Scepter).

I see you want the technical explanation, so...

The rules defines Total Cost as "What a player actually has to pay, in practical terms, to cast a spell or activated ability: the mana cost, activation cost, or alternative cost, plus all cost increases (including additional costs) and minus all cost reductions. See rule 601.2f."

702.46a Splice is a static ability ... Paying a cards splice cost follows the rules for paying additional costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2fh.

601.2f The player determines the total cost of the spell. Usually this is just the mana cost. Some spells have additional or alternative costs. Some effects may increase or reduce the cost to pay, or may provide other alternative costs. Costs may include paying mana, tapping permanents, sacrificing permanents, discarding cards, and so on. The total cost is the mana cost or alternative cost (as determined in rule 601.2b), plus all additional costs and cost increases, and minus all cost reductions....

So...What is happening here, is that the Isochron Scepter covers the mana cost, but no additional costs. Splice imposes an additional cost. But, Total Cost accounts for all additional costs and cost reductions. This means the cost reduction effect will apply to the additional cost imposed by Splice.

September 7, 2017 11:05 p.m.

hinkelman1990 says... #6

Thank you I was just worried about the spell being a copy and not being cast from my hand as a spell.. I've only been playing 3 months and I'm still learning some basics.

September 8, 2017 3:39 a.m.

Please login to comment