Is this an unbreakable loop? F&S + Samite Ministration

Asked by Suns_Champion 1 year ago

Firesong and Sunspeaker

Legendary Creature Minotaur Cleric 4/6

Red instant and sorcery spells you control have lifelink.

Whenever a white instant or sorcery spell causes you to gain life, Firesong and Sunspeaker deals 3 damage to target creature or player.

Combined with Samite Ministration (add combat damage or another instant to trigger the combo)

I do not think it is, because after targeting my self a billion times I just target something else and it stops? Do I have this correct?

Pieguy396 says... Accepted answer #3

I believe you are forced to eventually target something else if possible, yes. If, say, there are no other creatures on the battlefield and each player controls an Ivory Mask, the game ends in a draw.

March 13, 2018 10:36 p.m.

Neotrup says... #4

You can choose another target, so you will have to. The life gain is also part of a delayed triggered ability, so I'm not 100% sure the damage ability even triggers.

March 13, 2018 10:39 p.m.

Suns_Champion says... #5

Thanks. In multiplayer EDH that shouldn't be a problem.

Neotrup yeah not sure. The source is still the instant so I think it works. Not a judge so I dunno for sure.

March 13, 2018 10:54 p.m.

Neotrup says... #7

I was inclined to say it didn't, but the most relevant rule I could find is making me think that the life gain will be considered to be from a white instant spell. It is also important that the source be a spell, as cycling Renewed Faith does not trigger Firesong and Sunspeaker.

603.7d If a spell creates a delayed triggered ability, the source of that delayed triggered ability is that spell. The controller of that delayed triggered ability is the player who controlled that spell as it resolved.

It appears the source of the ability is considered to be the spell, which is the closest I can get to a definitive answer.

March 14, 2018 12:50 a.m.

Please login to comment