Is discarding your hand part of the resolution of Manabond's ability or does it replace the discard effect during your end step?

Asked by Yesterday 9 months ago

As part of its resolution, does Manabond functionally reduce your maximum hand size to zero for the discard phase of that turn, or does it just have you discard your hand as part of the resolution of the ability? I'd assume the latter is true but I wanted to double-check, seeing as the card text says it occurs during your discard phase (as opposed to at the beginning of your end step, as it says in the oracle text).

For example, if you had a hand of 4 Islands, Forbid, Simic Growth Chamber and you chose use Manabond's ability, you'd put the 4 Islands and the Simic Growth Chamber onto the battlefield at the same time, then discard Forbid as part of the resolution of the ability, and then afterwards your Simic land bounces a land back to your hand?

Have I got that right?

pskinn01 says... #1

Only discard if you put lands into play with its ability.

March 11, 2018 11:17 a.m.

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #2

Manabond triggers on end step, its not during the cleanup step (which is when you discard to maximum hand size). Cards always function according to their Oracle Text which can be found at gatherer.wizards.com. For Manabond it is as follows:

At the beginning of your end step, you may reveal your hand and put all land cards from it onto the battlefield. If you do, discard your hand.

Note the change to "At" indicating a triggered ability, rather than the original phrasing of "During."

March 11, 2018 1:03 p.m.

Please login to comment