Interaction between the Forerunners and Vanquisher's Banner

Asked by Hexaflexagon 1 year ago

Hi,

My deck, Simic Standard Merfolk V 2.0 has a Vanquisher's Banner and 2 Forerunner of the Heralds . I had a Banner out and had chosen Merfolk. The next turn, I cast a Forerunner. Using the stack, am I allowed to tutor for a card (let's say Kopala, Warden of Waves ) and then draw it from the Banner's last ability?

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

No, you won't be able to put the abilities in that order. You'll draw the card first, then search and put a merfolk on top.

The last ability of Vanquisher's Banner triggers when you first cast the merfolk spell, i.e. after you've put it onto the stack and paid its costs. It hasn't resolved and entered the battlefield yet. Forerunner of the Heralds' ability only triggers once it's actually entered the battlefield.

April 16, 2018 10:12 p.m.

Hexaflexagon says... #2

Thanks

April 16, 2018 10:17 p.m.

Please login to comment